Water Industry

Modern Apprenticeship



This Modern Apprenticeship is for employees who are entering the water industry or existing staff who want to develop their existing skills. They can be involved in the industry directly, or as part of the extensive supply chain of partners, alliances and contractors.

It’s particularly relevant to independent contractors looking after the sewers and drains throughout Scotland.

Apprenticeship framework(s)

Your employee will study for a Modern Apprenticeship at SCQF Level 5 or 6.

Select each level to see the framework document and qualification(s) at that level.

Entry requirements

To do the apprenticeship at SCQF Level 5, there are no formal requirements. To start at SCQF Level 6, candidates should have qualifications at Standard Grades, National level 4 or 5, or equivalent qualifications.

For both levels, candidates should demonstrate maturity and motivation. They should have an interest in pursuing a career in the water industry.

Candidates must be willing to undergo health screening to check for waterborne diseases.

Progression and development

The qualification at SCQF Level 5 prepares apprentices for the following types of roles:

  • sewerage investigative CCTV operative

  • sewerage water-jetting operative

  • sewerage repair and maintenance operative

  • sewerage trenchless technology operative

Employees will have the skills to progress onto the water industry Modern Apprenticeship at SCQF Level 6. Or they can start working towards one of the following qualifications:

  • Higher National Certificate (HNC) in civil engineering

  • SCQF Level 7 professional development awards

    • Water Operations: Waste Water Processes

    • Water Operations: Drinking Water Processes

    • Water Operations: Water Distribution and Utilisation

When they complete the apprenticeship at SCQF Level 6, employees could progress onto further development programmes, including:

  • Water Operations: Waste Water Processes at SCQF Level 7

  • Water Operations: Drinking Water Processes at SCQF Level 7

  • Water Operations: Water Distribution and Utilisation at SCQF Level 7

  • Selected related programmes at SQCF Level 8

  • Civil engineering HNC

  • degree in utilities management

  • Masters in utilities management

  • specific industry training leading to professional qualifications or awards

The SCQF Level 6 qualification prepares apprentices for the following types of roles:

  • leakage field technician

  • network design technician

  • water distribution technician

  • water fittings inspector

  • process operations technician

  • network construction technician

  • process operations supervisor

  • wastewater technician

How does it work?

Apprentices will learn in a real-world environment and earn a wage. They’ll also study with a college or other learning provider.

Cost and funding

We contribute towards training costs

We do this by paying the learning provider throughout the apprenticeship.

The training contribution calculator will show you our funding contribution for this framework.

An enhanced funding contribution is paid for employees aged 16 to 19. For those who are disabled and care-experienced, this is extended up to and including age 29.

Speak to a range of learning providers to find the best deal and agree on a flexible approach to meet your business needs.

Who pays the apprentice?

Like any other employee of your business, you’ll pay the Modern Apprentice's wages. This is not set by SDS, but we encourage all employers to pay the Living Wage. Remember, you must pay at least the National Minimum Wage.

How long will it take?

It will take 12 to 24 months to complete.

Need information or advice?

Call our advisors to find out more about Modern Apprenticeships.

0800 783 6000

Sounds right for your business?

The next step is to find a learning provider that offers this apprenticeship.

Find a learning provider